Karl Glockemann Nature Trophy

The Karl Glockemann Nature Trophy is awarded to the winner of the Nature Category of the HGCC in-club competitions. This trophy was presented to the club by Karl Glockemann (January 26, 1931 – May 1, 2017), an avid hiker and nature photographer. Karl was born in Hanover, Germany in 1931, emigrated to Canada in 1957, and joined the Highland Glen Camera Club in 1968. He was HGCC President in 1972 and 1973 and assisted with growing the club’s membership to over 50. Karl helped start the annual community slide show to generate funds and new members.

Karl’s keen eye for frogs and nature earned him recognition worldwide, with over 200 competition acceptances and numerous ribbons and medals from CAPA, FIAP, as well as other competitions in Europe, South America, China, Japan and Russia. Karl holds a 4-Star Award at the Photographic Society of America. After his retirement from active employment in 1990 he has continued to shoot, and present slide shows and nature lectures, in and around Kitchener-Waterloo.

Previous winners of the Karl Glockemann Nature Trophy are listed below:

1995-1996 Norm Jarvis
1996-1997 Norm Jarvis
1997-1998 Joyce Brant
1998-1999 Merlin L. Becker
1999-2000 Bao C. Tran
2000-2001 Merlin L. Becker
2001-2002 Norm Jarvis
2002-2003 Merlin L. Becker
2003-2004 Richard Pierce
2004-2005 Ken Macpherson
2005-2006 Richard Pierce
2006-2007 Richard Pierce
2009-2010 Ted Jeary