Lorne J. Hymers Theme Plaque

The Lorne J. Hymers Theme Plaque is awarded to the photographer with the highest cumulative score in the two Theme Competitions held in conjunction with the in-club category competitions in a given year.

Lorne Hymers (1913 – 2006) donated this plaque as a tribute to those members entering a competition in which the subject was predetermined. Lorne, employed as an architectural designer, was an avid railway buff in addition to being an accomplished photographer and long-time member of the Highland Glen Camera Club. His railway pictures are now part of various collections. Lorne continually promoted the idea of theme competitions as a valuable photographic exercise, and theme competitions remain a significant part of the HGCC program from year to year.

Prior winners of the Lorne J. Hymers Theme Plaque are listed below.
1993-1994 Jack Battler
1994-1995 Barb Lichty
1995-1996 Jack Battler
1996-1997 Jack Battler
1997-1998 Joyce Brant
1998-1999 Joyce Brant
1999-2000 Gee Wong
2000-2001 Gee Wong
2001-2002 Julie Trip
2002-2003 Gee Wong
2003-2004 Julie Trip
2004-2005 Jim Blomfield
2005-2006 Ken Macpherson
2006-2007 Ken Macpherson
2009-2010 George McDermitt